Mr. Jones' Room

1st-4th Math Coach Constantly Searching for New Ideas

Square Tile Pyramid

Act I

Act I

How many tiles do you think are in this square pyramid?

Write an estimate that is too high. Write an estimate that is too low.

Act II

Useful information (depending on student questions):

Square Tile Pyramid - 3 Act.004 Square Tile Pyramid - 3 Act.005 Square Tile Pyramid - 3 Act.006 Square Tile Pyramid - 3 Act.007

These slides can be used to reveal different answers at different points. The students shouldn’t be given “How many tiles in each layer?” before attempting to figure it out on their own.

Act III

Square Tile Pyramid - 3 Act.008

Act IV

Square Tile Pyramid - 3 Act.009

Some possible sequels that we thought of as a group. Please suggest more!!

Square Tile Pyramid – 3 Act Download

3 comments on “Square Tile Pyramid

  1. Pingback: 5th & 6th Grade Math Filing Cabinet | Mr. Jones' Room

  2. gfletchy
    June 22, 2014

    I love this task! It reminds me of Dan Meyer’s Penny Pyramid but you made the quantities accessible to lower grades.
    Even though you have it tagged for 4th and 5th grade it definitely go well in 2nd grade as well. (2.OA.4 Use addition to find the total number of objects arranged in rectangular arrays with up to 5 rows and up to 5 columns; write an equation to express the total as a sum of equal addends.) Sure the standard says “5” and the most you use is “6”, I would definitely give it a whirl. I am saving this one.
    The fact that it applies to multiple grade-levels is awesome. Speaks volumes about its low-entry and high scalability in terms of where you can take the math.

    • matt13jones
      June 22, 2014

      Thanks! I love the Penny Pyramid activity so I figured I’d try and bring it down to something I could use in my class. That was exactly the idea! You’re right though, it could definitely work for the younger grades also!

      I just got a new job and will most likely be teaching 6th grade math next year so I’m trying to create some lessons that I could do with a range of ages.I figure that this has a low floor for the higher grades and could just serve as a stepping stone to some of the sequels I came up with.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Navigation

