Mr. Jones' Room

1st-4th Math Coach Constantly Searching for New Ideas

Multiplying Fractions – 3 Act-ish Activity

UPDATE: Student work from the lesson itself is down below all the slides. I think it went relatively well. The students had a hard time coming up with some of the things I thought would be easy, such as how to make 12 wholes into a fraction. It took a lot of prodding to get them to the correct answer. I’ll hear from my principal eventually, but I already know things I would’ve done differently.

Tomorrow morning, I have an observation lesson with my building principal. This is my first observation in this position, actually my first observation ever. I think that this activity should go over really well with her, as long as the kids are on task. I know that she has never seen a lesson like this so I’m curious to see the feedback I’m given afterwards…that’s for a later post though! Here’s the video that I have ready to go for tomorrow.

And here are the keynote slides:

Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.001 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.003 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.004 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.005 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.006 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.007 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.008 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.009 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.010 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.011 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.012 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.013 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.014 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.015 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.016 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.017 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.018 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.019 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.020 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.021 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.022 Multiplying Fractions - 3 Act.023

 

I know that this isn’t a 3 act to the exact letter of the law, but I wanted to format it in a similar way though there are definitely differences. Hopefully it goes well!

 

UPDATE: 

Possible sources of research for future lessons

Possible sources of research for future lessons

Our original calculations for the Coke 12 pack

Our original calculations for the Coke 12 pack

A nice, neat chart of all the information we gathered

A nice, neat chart of all the information we gathered

Shading in 1/6 of a cup for each can in a 12 pack

Shading in 1/6 of a cup for each can in a 12 pack

Shading in 1/4 of a cup for each can in a 12 pack

Shading in 1/4 of a cup for each can in a 12 pack

Shading in 1/10 of a cup for each can in a 12 pack

Shading in 1/10 of a cup for each can in a 12 pack

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2014 by in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
