Mr. Jones' Room

1st-4th Math Coach Constantly Searching for New Ideas

UPDATE: Man Vs. Food PrBL

It’s amazing how a simple comment/suggestion can shape a lesson.

Thanks to Matt Vaudrey, I think this lesson is going to be ten times better. I’m trying to figure out how I can spin this into a set of lessons. Ideas going forward include having kids look through grocery store circulars and planning their own challenges, researching other food challenges and coming up with their own info, etc. But for now, here is the most recent version of this lesson. I’ll attach the keynote presentation to the end of this post so anyone who’s interested can download it and try it out. The only thing I ask is that you give me some feedback and details on how your kids respond to the lesson, suggestions are always welcome.

Man Vs. Food PrBL.001

Man Vs. Food PrBL.002 Man Vs. Food PrBL.003 Man Vs. Food PrBL.004 Man Vs. Food PrBL.005 Man Vs. Food PrBL.006 Man Vs. Food PrBL.007 Man Vs. Food PrBL.008 Man Vs. Food PrBL.009 Man Vs. Food PrBL.010

I’m working on the best way to present how the students should move forward and organize their work. As I come up with ideas, I will update this post. Suggestions are always welcome. The link to the Keystone Presentation is below, enjoy!

Man Vs. Food PrBL.key

3 comments on “UPDATE: Man Vs. Food PrBL

  1. Matt Vaudrey
    May 23, 2014

    I really like where this is going. Your Act 3 can be unique to each class.

    Which meal would you choose?
    Which is the best deal?
    Which will kill him fastest?

    The extension questions here are many and varied.

    • matt13jones
      May 23, 2014

      I think going from the first version to the second version of this made it go from a moderately interesting narrow concept to something that more kids will really be engaged in… I wish I had a class to do this with! Hopefully next year I’ll be in 6th Grade

  2. @JustinAion
    May 23, 2014

    I love this! There is so much great stuff to pull out of it! You could even have the kids start by listing questions that come to their minds, then, as a class, decide which ones to investigate. It will give them great ownership over their learning!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2014 by in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , .
