Mr. Jones' Room

1st-4th Math Coach Constantly Searching for New Ideas

Number Gymnastics and Open Number Lines

Everyone in elementary math should get familiar with Exit 10a and the great stuff Joe Schwartz is doing. It’s been great seeing some things that I can then use in my room. I’ve always loved the upper elementary math but never had a lot of experience in 1st and 2nd grade. This made my new position both good and tough at the same time. It’s tough because I’m starting from 0. The good thing is that I don’t have any bad habits and the amazing people throughout MTBOS have been so supportive, and welcoming. With that said, onto the activities of the day for my 1st graders. Often times, we start the day with a counting circle. While I was browsing through blog posts I noticed a link to Number Gymnastics from Everyday Math. It’s pretty self explanatory but I figured I’d post a picture or two to show how I used it, and also how I made it more challenging.

This is a nice place to start...going 1 before the number and then at the end adding 2.

This is a nice place to start…going 1 before the number and then at the end adding 2.

That was relatively simple so I figured I’d challenge them a bit and expanded it to this…

5 before, and adding 10 at the end made it a rich activity once they got the hang of it.

5 before, and adding 10 at the end made it a rich activity once they got the hang of it.

This led to a greater discussion of place value, specifically what changes when we add ten and why.

 

Then, I made up index cards with 1-30 on it. I set up an open number line that was scaffolded one of two ways.

Option A: Giving them 0, 15, 30 and allowing them to fill in the blank spots.

securedownload-29

Option B: Giving them 0,10,20,30 and allowing them to fill in the blank areas.

securedownload-33

 

Using these option interchangeably we took turns pointing out where numbers should go. Typical questions included:

What numbers do we put this between?

Should it be closer to X or Y?

securedownload-35 securedownload-34

securedownload-31

 

They were really into the whole activity and we even discussed rounding to a certain extent when deciding where numbers should be placed (i.e. “should 27 be closer to 20 or 30”).

We finished up by going to the floor and filling in the whole number line from 0-30.securedownload-27securedownload-28

Another successful day in 1st grade!

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2014 by in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , .
