Mr. Jones' Room

1st-4th Math Coach Constantly Searching for New Ideas

The Great Burger Experiment

 

This is my first attempt at a PrBL activity. For those of you unfamiliar with Matt Vaudrey…you should check out his site here. He’s another person in MTBOS that inspires me to come up with activities that will increase engagement and excitement. His mullet activities are what really inspired me to create something like this.

 

Ratios/Proportions are an important concept in 6th Grade with the Common Core Standards. With that in mind, I wanted to create something that would get the kids interested and engaged. What better way to do that than to use cheeseburgers?!

The activity is pretty self explanatory but questions/suggestions are always welcome! These are the Keynote slides I made for the problem.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

5 comments on “The Great Burger Experiment

  1. Matt Vaudrey
    May 12, 2014

    Oh, baby. That is good stuff. Do you have samples of student work? Next steps? Quotes from a discussion? I want more!

    • matt13jones
      May 12, 2014

      I wish I had more!! This is more of a hypothetical activity… I am in a building with only 1st – 4th graders and since they haven’t done ratios I don’t have any guinea pigs.. I’m the EDUCamp director at my summer job though where I will have access to plenty of students that will be trying this. I’m trying to make it into a set of activities that will allow this to be the only thing they do all summer (they meet 1x a week for the EDUCamp Math part of camp).

      I’m interviewing at a middle school tomorrow so I wanted an activity that would be appropriate for them to show I can do the upper grades as well.

  2. Tim Gill (@tbgill)
    May 13, 2014

    Go for it with the 4th graders! I believe that kids have a sense of ration and proportion. No formal teaching required for investigating burgers! Cool idea, great job!

    • matt13jones
      May 13, 2014

      This is true…it’s definitely possible. I might wing it one day and see what happens!

  3. Pingback: Man Vs. Food PrBL | The Math Lab @ Room 27

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2014 by in Everyday and tagged , , , .
