Mr. Jones' Room

1st-4th Math Coach Constantly Searching for New Ideas

Labels, Quotes, and Brainstorms + 2 Wins = A Good Day

LABELS

For anyone who knows how truly horrible I am at organization…I labelled the boxes, yup. All by myself! (Almost) every box has a label on it as well as the CCLS domain that the manipulative could be of assistance with. For example, I put “NF” on the fraction models for obvious reasons.

photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 1

This is obviously a fairly easy task but I think it will pay dividends for when my colleagues ask questions.

QUOTE

I saw this today and really loved it.

“It’s better to solve a problem five ways than to solve five problems”

– George Polya

I’m hoping this will remind students to slow down, though I won’t be holding my breath.

BRAINSTORMS

Given that it was my first week, I wasn’t involved in the planning for tomorrow’s big math activity but it still deserves mentioning. They have what they call “March Math Madness” and they planned an activity that combines basketball and math that the whole school can participate in one way or another. It looks like it will be a really fun day, and I’m really looking forward to it!

With that in mind, I started thinking about other ways I could potentially add to the culture of math in the building as I move forward. In that spirit, I’ve been brainstorming ideas and I look forward to finding out what others have used to get the whole school involved in math. I like the Inside Mathematics Problem of the Month but I’m thinking of a way that we could combine that with a big end-of-the-year festival of some sort. More ideas to come…if you have any ideas please leave them in the comments!

2 WINS

This is the humble brag portion of my post for today.

Win #1 – I saw a group yesterday where some of the students were a bit difficult off the bat. It was the usual testing of the new teacher, nothing out of control. I was pretty sure that they weren’t crazy about me. But, when I ran into one of them today, he told me he was mad it was a half day today (I take them in the afternoon) and asked if I would be taking him tomorrow. I’m not, because I only take them Tuesday/Thursday. He “tsk”-ed his teeth and said he was even more bummed now. Such a great feeling.

Win #2 – I started on Monday and Parent Teacher Conferences are this afternoon/evening. Needless to say, I didn’t have any appointments from parents because I’ve barely had a chance to finish organizing my room let alone introduce myself. A parent of one of the students that were in the class for my demo lesson just came up though and told me how excited her son was to start with the “fun, new math teacher” and I gave her information on how to set up Khan Academy to practice at home. Hopefully this will lead to a lot of growth in the near future.

Ok, I’m done with my bragging now. It’s important to take these opportunities to remind yourself why you teach. On my next bad day, I can look back at this and remember that there are great days also.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2014 by in Everyday and tagged , , , , , , , , .
