Mr. Jones' Room

1st-4th Math Coach Constantly Searching for New Ideas

Moving In…

My first day was monday and I have to say I’m really motivated to try and be as innovative as possible in my new position…

I should probably backtrack and explain who/what/why I am. I’m Matt Jones and I’ve been a certified teacher since December of 2010. Naturally, on Long Island, that doesn’t mean I’ve been teaching since then. I subbed in Small Town Suburbia for a while and really enjoyed all the friends I’ve made and the kids were great. This year I was a Teaching Assistant in with the most amazing 3rd Grade co-teaching class and was having an amazing year. I was in one place for the year for the first time, and I absolutely loved it. In January, my Assistant Superintendent said she heard of a math position opening up in a more urban area. Given that I’m saving for a wedding and would like a full-time probationary position I figured I’d send in my resume. I’ve sent countless resumes and never heard much back so I didn’t have my hopes too high. Then out of nowhere, I interviewed, got called for a demo, and was hired in about 2 weeks. Needless to say, I was incredibly excited to get a position that could really be my career and passion. At the same time, I was incredibly bummed to leave my 3rd graders and fellow teachers that I had become so close with. But I accepted and I’m officially a math teacher.

The teacher I replaced was well respected and had been there for over 25 years. I’m sure she is a marvelous person and a great educator. Unfortunately it seems that she may have also been a bit of a hoarder.

 

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

 

That was what I walked into, and it was a tad overwhelming. Once the screaming subsided and I sorted through some things, it ended up looking like this.

photo 2 photo 4 photo 3

It still needs work but I’m definitely getting on the right track. I’m hoping that this organization will set the tone for the room that I’m in and the kids see how important it is to pay attention to the details.

As I come up with more activities I will post different things that have worked (or not) for me. I have been inspired by people like Dan Meyer and Andrew Stadel to look at math in a different light and hopefully make it as interesting as I possibly can.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2014 by in Everyday.

Navigation

